22 Jan

There’s a big debate right now about we who blog about fat acceptance. Commenters and other bloggers think I’m pushing fat to be the norm. On the contrary, I am pushing for you to be you. If you’re thin, be thin. If you’re fat, be fat. But, don’t let someone stigmatize you for it. If there’s one thing I’ve learned, I don’t need to have other people telling me what is good or bad for my body (thank you very much, Judith Angel). You don’t live in this body. I do. Only I know how I feel emotionally, physically, and spiritually. How I live is between me and my God. You don’t have to understand it. Just accept it.

Far be it from me to push how I live on others. I said this about feederism, and I’ll say it about my current lifestyle – different strokes for different folks.

I do consider myself an activist. This is where the two become one. When I present myself as a Fat Activist, that means I’m advocating for anyone who has been called names, been turned down from a job because they’re too big, or seen any other kind of prejudice because of weight. I’m encouraging people to be healthy at any size.

Heath at Every Size (HAES) is an amazing way of viewing life. It’s about being healthy and heavy. Yes, you can be. It doesn’t mean you have to lose those 10 pounds, if you’re active and eating well. Some people can’t shed the pounds. That’s how they’re made.

Basic Principles of Health At Every SizeSM

1. Accepting and respecting the diversity of body shapes and sizes.

2. Recognizing that health and well-being are multi-dimensional and that they include
physical, social, spiritual, occupational, emotional, and intellectual aspects.

3. Promoting all aspects of health and well-being for people of all sizes.

4. Promoting eating in a manner which balances individual nutritional needs, hunger,
satiety, appetite, and pleasure.

5. Promoting individually appropriate, enjoyable, life-enhancing physical activity, rather
than exercise that is focused on a goal of weight loss.

So do I want to be accepted for who I am? Heck, yeah. And, I’m going to advocate for that acceptance.

Leave a Reply

